Biografie

Nic Schmitt (*1976 in Rüsselsheim) lives and works in Mainz since 2006.

She has been developing projects in the field of performing arts since 1996, both as a performer and as a director and producer.

In her artistic work, she combines her interest in individual and social changes with personal and autobiographical topics such as her own "queerness" and the interest in the morbid. In the development of her projects, she mainly uses improvisation with body and language as a creative tool. With courage, humor and a good dose of irony, she searches for meaning in the everyday madness of our reality and likes to challenge one or the other social norm.

Nic Schmitt mostly works in cooperation with other artists, since 2000 she has had a permanent artistic partner with Peter Schulz. The projects she developed under the Schmitt & Schulz label were shown nationwide in Germany, the Netherlands and the USA.

Together with Peter Schulz, she also founded the performance art depot (pad) in 2007, a stage and production site for contemporary forms of performance and cross-media projects, which they jointly managed until 2020. www.pad-mainz.de

Biografie

Nic Schmitt  (*1976 in Rüsselsheim) lebt und arbeitet seit 2006 in Mainz.

Sie entwickelt seit 1996 Projekte aus dem Bereich Darstellender Kunst, sowohl als Performerin, als auch als Regisseurin und Produzentin.

In ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit vereint sie ihr Interesse an individuellen und gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen mit persönlichen und autobiografischen Themen wie z.B. der eigenen „Queerness“ und der Lust am Morbiden. In der Entwicklung ihrer Projekte nutzt sie hauptsächlich Improvisationsarbeit mit Körper und Sprache als gestalterisches Mittel. Mit Mut, Humor und einer gehörigen Portion Ironie macht sie sich auf die Suche nach Sinn im alltäglichen Wahnsinn unserer Realität und stellt dabei auch gerne mal die ein oder andere gesellschaftliche Norm in Frage.

Nic Schmitt arbeitet meistens in Kooperation mit anderen Künstlern, seit 2000 hat sie mit Peter Schulz einen ständigen künstlerischen Partner. Die mit ihm unter dem Label Schmitt&Schulz entwickelten Projekte wurden bundesweit in Deutschland, in den Niederlanden und in den USA gezeigt.

Mit Peter Schulz gründete sie auch 2007 das performance art depot (pad), ein Spiel- und Produktionsort für zeitgenössische Formen der Darstellungen und cross-media Projekte, den sie bis 2020 gemeinsam leiteten. www.pad-mainz.de